temporarily closed premises
Estimated population (2010) of Freston: 120.
Local licensing authority for Freston is Babergh.
Freston is a small, scattered village on the bank of the Orwell estuary. Freston tower is an Elizabethan red brick tower possibly once used by a merchant to watch the river trade. It is conjectured that the tower was built by Edmund Latymer, about the year 1549, "as a quiet retreat, or 'pleasaunce tower,' for the better enjoyment of the extensive and charming views which are to obtained from it."
The village's name means "farm of the Frisian"; it was apparently originally settled by people from the Dutch province of Fryslân (sometimes known as Friesland). It was recorded in Domesday as "Fresetuna" or "Frisetuna" and appears on John Speed's 1610 map as "Freſton".